Michael F. Press

Professor of Pathology

Areas of treatment:

Anatomic Pathology


  • Pathology


  • Department of Pathology


  • English
  • German

Michael F. Press, MD, PhD

Professor of Pathology

Practicing location:

  • USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center and Hospital

About this doctor:

After completing his MD and PhD degrees as well as his Residency training at the University of Chicago, Dr. Press joined the faculty as an assistant professor in the Department of Pathology (1981) and in 1985 received an appointment in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology. In 1987, Dr. Press was promoted to associate professor in the departments of pathology and obstetrics and gynecology. Dr. Press joined the USC faculty in 1988 as an Associate Professor and in 1993 was promoted to Professor in the department of pathology. Since 1998, he has also held the title of Harold E. Lee Chair for Cancer Research.


BA, Washington University (St. Louis, MO), 1970
PhD, University of Chicago, 1975
Doctor of Medicine, University of Chicago, 1977


University of Chicago, Pathology, 1977 - 1981 (Chief Resident 1979 - 1981)


Recipient of N.I.H. Training Grant for combined M.D. - Ph.D. program (USPHS Graduate Training Grant No. 1 - T32 HD - 07009), 1972 - 1977
American Cancer Society Junior Faculty Clinical Fellow (JFCF#678), 1982 - 1985
The University of Chicago Faculty Traveling Fellowship (Fellow of Dr. Robert Scully, Harvard Medical School, M.G.H., Boston), 1984
Amoco Foundation Scholar, 1984 - 1985


American Board of Pathology: Anatomical Pathology

Professional society memberships:

American Association of Pathologists
International Academy of Pathology
International Society of Gynecological Pathologists
American Association for the Advancement of Science
American Association for the Advancement of Cancer Research
American Society for Clinical Oncology


Recipient of the "Robert S. Cleland Excellence in Teaching Award" from the Graduate Students in the Department of Pathology, USC School of Medicine, 1993
The Harold E. Lee Chair for Cancer Research (July 1998 - Present)