Lisa C. Olmos de Koo

Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology; Director of the Vitreoretinal Fellowship, USC Eye Institute
Lisa C. Olmos de Koo, MD, MBA

Areas of treatment:

Medical and Surgical Retinal Diseases
Macular Degeneration
Retinal Detachment
Diabetic Retinopathy
Macular Hole and Macular Pucker
Ocular Trauma
Central Serous Retinopathy


  • Ophthalmology


  • Department of Ophthalmology


  • English
  • Spanish

Lisa C. Olmos de Koo, MD, MBA

Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology; Director of the Vitreoretinal Fellowship, USC Eye Institute

Practicing locations:

  • Keck Medicine of USC - Beverly Hills
  • USC Roski Eye Institute (Los Angeles)

About this doctor:

Dr. Olmos de Koo is Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology and Director of the Vitreoretinal Fellowship program at the USC Gayle and Edward Roski Eye Institute. She focuses her practice on adult retinal disorders including diabetic retinopathy, retinal detachments, ocular trauma and central serous retinopathy. She is the primary investigator on the clinical trials for the Argus II retinal prosthetic devices, and is currently leading the commercial launch of Argus II at USC. She has experience in the management of the most complex surgical and medical retinal disorders.

Dr. Olmos de Koo earned her medical degree from Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas, and her MBA from Rice University. She completed her residency, fellowship and post-fellowship chief residency at the University of Miami’s Bascom Palmer Eye Institute.

Dr. Olmos has been voted one of Pasadena’s “Top Doctors” for three consecutive years from 2012-2014, and she was the recipient of a “Rising Star” award from Los Angeles Magazine in 2013.


Doctor of Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine, 2005
Master of Business Administration, Rice University, 2005


Georgetown University/Inova Fairfax Hospital, Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Critical Care and Emergency Medicine, 2005 - 2006


Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, Ophthalmology, 2006 - 2009


Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, Vitreoretinal Surgery, 2009 - 2010


American Board of Ophthalmology

Professional society memberships:

American Society of Retina Specialists (ASRS) (2009 - Present)
Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) (2007 - Present)
American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) (2006 - Present)
American Medical Association (AMA) (2000 - Present)


2004 Sjorgren's Syndrome Foundation Student Fellowship Award Winner
AMWA Scholastic Achievement Award
Owl Award for Excellence
Frances Haldeman Sidwell Award